Time Off (Kidding!)

book and ereaderI requested this week off moons ago, without having any plans. I mulled the various possibilities: visit family in Hawaii? Adventure to Yosemite, where I have never been in all the 21 years I’ve lived in California? Go nowhere at all, but “nest” for the week? Do something else?

Turns out, I will be doing a little of a lot of things. Gardening: planting green onions to go with the mint, sage, rosemary and thyme. And watering. Lots of watering in this 100-degree week. Reading: catching up on articles in Toastmasters Magazine and trying to finish “The Serpent’s Shadow” before the due date because there are still 138 people on the waiting list. Coaching: helping Husband purchase, download to Kindle and read a 1044-page novel that was aggravating his carpal tunnel in print format. Getting fingerprinted: part of the hiring process for an adjunct assistant professor position at Sacramento City College. Having lunch with a friend: using a half-off voucher to enjoy a meal at a local restaurant.

Oh, and checking my work e-mail daily.

Having the internet so handily available on phone, iPad and laptop is too seductive. Because they’re always online, it’s SO EASY to mindlessly type in the Outlook Web Access address and handle a couple of messages … check the calendar … preview new appointments …  Why is it so hard to leave work at work?

It turns out, we are able to go out of town for a couple of days. I will be taking the laptop so I can attend a work-related webinar scheduled for this week. I expect to be looking out over achingly beautiful scenery as I learn about a new e-resource for the class I’ll begin teaching at SCC next month.

It’s a good thing I love my job! Vacation is pretty stressful!

Leave a Reply

